Professional Home & Property Inspectors of Canada  
 
Home  |   About PHPIC  |   Find an inspector  |   Contact us  |   External Links  |   Français
For Consumers For Inspectors News

Ontario - Home Inspector Qualifications Project

The Ontario Ministry of Consumer Services invited Doug Kendall, Chair of PHPIC, to be a member of the panel studying minimum qualifications for home inspectors. The panel report was released on Dec. 11, 2013 and consumer feedback is currently being reviewed.

The final report makes 35 recommendations, including: regulating the home inspector profession, introducing uniform qualifications, standards of practice and code of ethics to be followed by all home inspectors. All recommendations are focused on increasing the integrity of Ontario's home inspector profession and strengthening consumer protection for home buyers who purchase home inspection services.

Click here to view the full report.

An Update:

 

An email to Panel Members, dated May 9, 2014:

 

As you are no doubt aware, the Premier announced last Friday that Ontario's 2014 general election will take place on Thursday, June 12th. As we enter  the writ period, I am writing to advise you of how we intend to proceed with the home inspector work you have been so involved in. 

 

What is known as the "caretaker period" commenced with the dissolution of the Legislative Assembly on Friday, May 2nd. This period will continue to the swearing-in of a returning or new government. It is a well-established tradition that the government addresses only very routine or urgent issues during this time.  The caretaker period requires that there be no new policy or program initiatives, and restricts ongoing work, consultations, announcements and events.

 

Consequently, the Ministry of Consumer Services will suspend any further consultation/discussion on the home inspectors project until the new government is sworn in and we have had an opportunity to brief and receive direction on next steps.

 

Your  submissions and advice will continue to be valuable input into the ministry's advice to the next government, as will the public submissions on the home inspector panel report that was recently posted on the Regulatory Registry.  Any decision on next steps will be made by the next government.

 

Thank you again for all your efforts and interest in this initiative.

 

- - - David

David Brezer, MBA, P.Eng

Director, Consumer Policy and Liaison Branch

T: 416-326-8868    M: 416-220-4934



2017 Newsletters





The Canadian Gold Standard!

‘Working ...
Read more

2016 Newsletters
Newsletters past and present
...
Read more

CSA Standard Available for Public Review
FROM CSA:

I am delighted to announce that the CS...
Read more

Ontario - WSIB What does it mean for you?
New legislation came into force in Ontario in Janu...
Read more

Are you ready to apply for your NHI?
This is an overview of how to get your NHI designa...
Read more


Copyright © 2017, Professional Home and Property Inspectors of Canada (PHPIC®). All rights reserved.
PHPIC® and PHPI™ are registered property of the Professional Home and Property Inspectors of Canada.
This site and all material are copyright protected and cannot be used without written permission of PHPIC®.

Inspecteur professionnel d'habitations et propriétés du Canada  
 
Accueil  |   À Propos  |   Trouvez un inspecteur  |   Pour Nous Joindre  |   Liens Externes  |   English
Pour les consommateurs Pour les inspecteurs Nouvelles

Projet des Certification-Ontario

Le ministère des Services aux consommateurs de l'Ontario a invité Doug Kendall, président de IPHPC, d'être un membre de la commission d'étudier les qualifications minimales pour les inspecteurs en bâtiment. Le rapport du Groupe spécial a été libéré le 11 décembre 2013 et les réactions des consommateurs est en cours de révision.

Le rapport final fait 35 recommandations, y compris: la régulation de la profession maison de l'inspecteur, l'introduction de qualifications uniformes, des normes de pratique et le code d'éthique à suivre par tous les inspecteurs de la maison. Toutes les recommandations sont axées sur l'augmentation de l'intégrité de la profession maison de l'inspecteur de l'Ontario et de renforcer la protection des consommateurs pour les acheteurs qui achètent des services d'inspection de la maison.

Cliquez
ICI pour consulter le rapport complet.
Mise à jour:

Un e-mail aux membres des tribunaux, datée du 9 mai 2014:

 Comme vous le savez sans doute, le premier ministre a annoncé vendredi dernier que 2014 des élections générales de l'Ontario aura lieu le jeudi 12 Juin. Comme nous entrons dans la période électorale, je vous écris pour vous informer de la façon dont nous avons l'intention de procéder à des travaux à la maison de l'inspecteur que vous avez été si impliqué.

 Qu'est-ce qui est connu comme la «période de transition» a commencé par la dissolution de l'Assemblée législative, le vendredi 2 mai. Cette période se poursuivra jusqu'à la prestation de serment du gouvernement du scrutin ou nouvelle. C'est une tradition bien établie que le gouvernement ne traite que des questions très courantes ou urgentes durant cette période. La période de transition exige qu'il n'y ait pas de nouvelles initiatives de politiques ou de programmes, et limite le travail en cours, des consultations, des annonces et des événements.

Par conséquent, le ministère des Services aux consommateurs sera suspendre toute consultation / discussion sur la maison inspecteurs projettent: le nouveau gouvernement prête serment et nous avons eu l'occasion d'informer et de recevoir des directives sur les prochaines étapes.

 Vos observations et des conseils continueront d'être une contribution précieuse à l'avis du ministère au prochain gouvernement, de même que les observations du public sur le rapport du Groupe spécial maison de l'inspecteur qui a récemment été affiché sur le Registre de la réglementation. Toute décision sur les prochaines étapes sera effectué par le prochain gouvernement.

 
Merci encore pour tous vos efforts et l'intérêt de cette initiative.

- - - David

David Brezer, MBA, ing

Directeur, la politique des consommateurs et de la liaison

T: 416-326-8868 M: 416-220-4934



Copyright © 2017 Inspecteur professionnel d'habitations et de propriétés du Canada(IPHPC®). Tous droits réservés.
PHPIC® and PHPI™ are registered property of the Inspecteur professionnel Inspectors of Canada.
Ce site web et son contenu sont protégés par les droits d'auteur et ne peuvent être copiés qu'avec la permission écrite de l'IPHPC®.